PA Resolution on e-Prescribing Adopted by AMA; PA Physicians Elected to Key AMA Positions

Pennsylvania physicians were well represented at the Annual Meeting of the American Medical Association (AMA) in Chicago, Ill., this week.

Among the many resolutions adopted by the AMA House of Delegates was a PAMED-sponsored measure aimed at nationwide compatibility for electronic prescriptions for controlled substances.

The resolution asks the AMA to seek a requirement from the U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) and/or the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) that all pharmacies and pharmacy benefits managers acquire and implement the appropriate EPCS software applications to accept electronically transmitted controlled substance prescriptions from any physician or hospital-based computer system that complies with CMS and DEA certification requirements.

This resolution was introduced by Pennsylvania AMA delegate and speaker of the PAMED House of Delegates Martin Trichtinger, MD.

Several Pennsylvania physicians were also elected or appointed to key leadership positions within the AMA. Carl Sirio, MD, and Stephen Permut, MD, were re-elected to the AMA Board of Trustees and Andrew Gurman, MD, was re-elected speaker of the AMA House of Delegates. Peter Lund, MD, was re-elected to the AMA’s Council on Medical Service, and Marilyn Heine, MD, was appointed to the AMA’s Council on Legislation. James Goodyear, MD, serves as the chair of Pennsylvania’s AMA Delegation.